Here’s a sweet treat! This is for the diabetics, or for someone who doesn’t need excess sugar. Feel free to load up on these peanut butter cups. I personally love peanut butter cups, but I hate how much sugar most have. If I do find a sugar-free alternative, it’s usually expensive and in short supply. We’re also going to use some fresh ingredients in this recipe, which will make these healthier than anything store bought.
This recipe should make 6 servings.
Equipment You Need:
- 2 Mixing Bowls
- Something to Stir With
- Paper Cupcake Liners
- Cupcake Tray
- Sauce Pan
- Food Processor
- 1/2 Cup Unsalted Peanuts, Dry Roasted
- 1 4/5 Teaspoon Peanut Oil
- 4 Tablespoons Powdered Monk Fruit Sweetener or 2 Teaspoons Powdered Stevia
- 1 Cup Semi-Sweet 99% Chocolate
- Pinch of Kosher Salt
- Grind up peanuts, salt, and 3 Tablespoons Monk Fruit or 2 Teaspoons Powdered Stevia in a food processor until peanuts have turned into a buttery ball. This should take about 1-2 minutes.
- Lightly pour and coat peanut butter with peanut oil, then restart food processor for another 30 seconds to combine. Add salt if needed. If peanut butter is too dry, tiny and light amounts of oil can be added, but dry peanut butter isn’t necessarily bad for peanut butter cups.
- Put paper cups in cupcake tray.
- Melt chocolate in sauce pan on stove.
- Mix in 1/2 Teaspoon Stevia or 1 Tablespoon Monk Fruit to sauce pan. Continue to stir chocolate.
- Remove sauce pan from stove.
- Spread about 2 tablespoons of Chocolate in paper cupcake liners of each cup.
- Put 2 teaspoons of peanut butter mix in cups, placing above chocolate if possible.
- Cover peanut butter in each cup with chocolate and smooth over.
- Place cupcake Tray in refrigerator for about 1 hour or when chocolate is hard.
- Remove hardened cups from the liners and enjoy your treat!
- To Make This Vegan: Use Dark Chocolate Parra, as this is vegan and don’t add sweetener to the chocolate mix, or use whichever is your favorite Vegan chocolate.
- Kosher for Passover Note: Dark Chocolate Parra is actually Kosher for Passover, just don’t add sweetener because it already has a little bit of sugar included. Ashkenazim cannot eat peanut butter during Passover due to Kitniyot restrictions.
Like this recipe? Let us know in the comments below!